Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs)

OUR PROGRAM GUARANTEES ADMISSION TO 37 HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES

Who is Welcome

HBCUs were established primarily to serve the higher education needs of the Black community. However, they are open to students of all ethnicities. Most HBCUs are located in the South and on the East Coast. They award bachelor’s degrees in many fields and many award master's and doctorate degrees.

About

The California Community Colleges Transfer Guarantee to Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Program makes it easy for students to get from a California community college to an HBCU. This program simplifies the transfer process and reduces the need for students to take unnecessary courses, which shortens the time it takes to get a degree and saves money along the way.

Students who receive at least a 2.0 GPA and 30 transferable units are guaranteed transfer to a HBCU as part of the California Community Colleges partnership with 37 select HBCUs. 

We're here to support you every step of the way. If you have any questions or would like to learn more about your options, please reach out to HBCUtransfer@cccco.edu.


Steps to Apply

Now that you know about the California Community Colleges Transfer Guarantee to HBCUs, get started on the steps to transfer to an HBCU.

If you have questions about the transfer process, we're here to help. Send an email with your name, the California community college you currently attend or plan to attend, and your chosen HBCU, along with your question to hbcutransfer@cccco.edu. Our average response time is 48 hours. 

Step 1
Fill out our program application form for hands-on guidance through the transfer process.

Step 2
Begin researching our HBCU partner institutions.

Step 3
Meet with a community college counselor to discuss your schools of interest and review ALL college transcripts to ensure you meet program requirements.

Step 4
Obtain a fee waiver code from your counselor in order to complete the Common Black College Application.

Step 5
For HBCUs not found on the Common Black College App website, reach out to the school's contact found on our HBCU partners page in order to apply directly.

Transfer Advantages

• Acceptance of completed transfer-level community college courses

• A free single application for up to four participating partner HBCUs

• A simplified transfer process

• Priority consideration for housing when application is submitted by the posted deadline

• Consideration for transfer scholarships if you have a 3.2 or higher grade point average (based on funding availability)

• Transfer counseling

HBCU Success By the Numbers

Black Professional who Attended an HBCU:

40% Black and African American Members of Congress are HBCU grads

12.5% of Black and African American CEOs are HBCU grads

40% of Black and African American engineers are HBCU grads

50% of Black and African American college professors at non-HBCUs are HBCU grads

80% of Black and African American judges are HBCU grads

Statistics are from 2015.

Partner Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Historically Black Colleges and Universities have a long and rich history. Some of the most recognizable African Americans have been trained and educated at these institutions. HBCUs include public and private institutions that vary in size and degree programs and are located primarily in the South and on the East coast. Here you will find each of our 37 partner HBCUs, as well as a contact person at each school to reach out to in order to learn more. We continue to add HBCU partners on an ongoing basis. Check back on a periodic basis for updates.

Alabama State University
​Randall Massey, District Recruiter & Transfer Specialist
rmassey@alasu.edu
334-229-4806

Alcorn State University
Mrs. Katangelia Tenner, Director for Admissions
ksampson@alcorn.edu
601-877-6148

Arkansas Baptist College
James Burrell, Director of Admissions
James.burrell@arkansasbaptist.edu

Benedict College
Mrs. Keisha Montgomery, Director of Admissions and Recruitment
Keisha.Montgomery@benedict.edu
803-705-4910

Bennett College
Jasmine Faison, Admissions Counselor/Recruiter
jfaison@bennett.edu
336-517-2167

Bethune-Cookman University
Carol Brown, Transfer Student Services Coordinator
brownc@cookman.edu
386-481-2105

Bowie State University
Lawrence Webb, Admissions Counselor
lwebb@bowiestate.edu
301-860-3370

Central State University
Amanda McCombs, Enrollment Specialist
amccombs@centralstate.edu
937-376-6596

Claflin University
Reynolda Brown, VP Enrollment Management 
reybrown@claflin.edu
803-535-5569

Clark-Atlanta University
Antonio McFarland, Senior Recruiter 
amcfarland@cau.edu 
404-880-6342

Dillard University
De’Idra Richard, Diversity Outreach Counselor
drichard@dillard.edu
504-816-4309

Edward Waters College
Justin Murray, Transfer Counselor
justin.murray@ewc.edu 
904-470-8207

Fisk University
Daniela Lopez, Senior Admissions Counselor
flopez@fisk.edu
615-329-8666

Florida Memorial University
Eric Foster, Admissions Counselor 
Eric.foster@fmuniv.edu 
305-626-3613

Fort Valley State University
Dennis Gillaird, Assistant Director of Recruitment & Operations
dennis.gillaird@fvsu.edu
478-825-6506

Grambling State University
Kenneth “Jemal” Ruffin, Assistant Director – Head Recruiter
ruffink@gram.edu
318-274-6108 

“GIL” Alvarado, Director of Admissions
alvaradog@gram.edu
318-274-2432 – office
704-213-3129 – mobile

Harris-Stowe State University
Bethany Ferguson, Transfer Admission Counselor 
fergusob@hssu.edu 
314-340-3304

Huston-Tillotson University
Asia Haney, Interim Director of Admissions, Office of Admissions
aehaney@htu.edu
512-505-3023

Kentucky State University
Jennifer Williams, Director of BREDS Office for Enrollment & Scholarships
Jennifer.williams@kysu.edu
502-597-6486

Lane College
Derrick Mays, Director of Admissions
dmays@lanecollege.edu
731-426-7563

Lincoln University of Missouri
Amanda Woods, Assistant Director
woodsa@lincolnu.edu
573-681-5017

Dr. Sonja Jackson, Dir. of Recruitment
jacksons@lincolnu.edu
573-681-5102

Lincoln University of Pennsylvania
Kenyatta Austin, Transfer Counselor
kaustin@lincoln.edu
484-365-7208 (office)
484-746-0831 (cell)

Mississippi Valley State University
Danisha Williams, Director of Admissions
Danisha.williams@mvsu.edu
662-254-3345

North Carolina Central University
Denettia Shaw, Dir. Office of Transfer Services
Dshaw9@nccu.edu
919-530-6687

Philander Smith College
Mr. Yohannis Job, Interim Director of Admissions & Recruitment & Special Assistant to the President 
yjob@philander.edu
501-370-5211

Shaw University
Ashley Conner, Assoc. Dir. Of Admissions & Recruitment
Ashley.conner@shawu.edu
919-546-8357 office
919-822-4134 cell

Southern University and A&M College
Jocha Gordon, Assistant Director of Admissions
Jocha_gordon@subr.edu
225-771-3662

Dr. Heather Freeman, Ex. Director of Admissions & Recruitment 
Heather_freeman@subr.edu 
225-771-5819

Stillman College
Valarie Wilson, Senior Director of Enrollment Management
vwilson@stillman.edu

Talladega College
Lon C. Weind
lweind@talladega.edu
Office: 256-761-8879
Cell: 626-536-7837

Tennessee State University
Dr. Carjamin Scott, Dir. Admissions & Recruitment
cscott@tnstate.edu
615-963-2594
615-669-9152

Texas Southern University
Christopher London, Transfer Admissions Coordinator
Christopher.london@tsu.edu
713-313-1985

Tougaloo College
Joel Swan, Enrollment Officer
jswan@tougaloo.edu
601-977-7771

Tuskegee University
Jessica Hudson, Admissions Counselor
jhudson@tuskegee.edu
334-724-4852

Virginia State University
Angela Diggs, Director of Recruitment
adiggs@vsu.edu
804-524-5901/5972

West Virginia State University
Jameelah Means, Director of Admissions
jmeans9@wvstateu.edu
304-204-4341

Wiley College 
Shawana Hayes, Assistant to the AVP of Enrollment Services & Recruitment/Admissions Operations Coordinator
Shayes1@wileyc.edu
903-927-3291

Xavier University of Louisiana
Kendra Lawrence, Senior Associate Director of Admissions
klawren4@xula.edu 
504-520-7388

If you are an HBCU who values the contributions of transfer students on your campus and would like to learn more about this program, please email us at hbcutransfer@cccco.edu for more information.

Ready to kickstart your future at an HBCU?

Join hundreds of CCC transfer students on the journey to a life-changing education.

Step 1

Fill out our program application form for hands-on guidance through the transfer process.

Apply for our Program

Step 2

Begin researching our HBCU partner institutions.

Explore Schools

Step 3

Meet with a community college counselor to discuss your schools of interest and review ALL college transcripts to ensure you meet program requirements.

Step 4

Obtain a fee waiver code from your counselor in order to complete the Common Black College Application.

Start Application

Step 5

For HBCUs not found on the Common Black College App website, reach out to the school's contact found on our HBCU partners page in order to apply directly.

Explore Schools

Got questions?
We’ve got answers.

All Paths FAQs